Is Rap/Hip Hop Bad for African Americans

This opinion was originally written four years ago.

The Bottom Line If you don’t want to read my whole essay, The answer is YES! If you want to know why, read on.

50-cent.jpg

The question of the day, my friends both white and black, is, “Is Rap/Hip Hop bad for African Americans?”

For all you readers that like Rap, let me tell you, I don’t, and that makes me more impartial with regards to the negative effects of Rap on the black community. What, you don’t think there are any negative effects? Well thats where we disagree and that’s why we’re going to discuss this.

Now, some of you may know me and some of you may have guessed, so I won’t keep you in suspense, I am White but I’m not racist. Am I color blind? probably not. Very few people are. My wife is and I think my kids are but I’m older and grew up in the forties and fifties. My father was an Archie Bunker type and was a closet bigot. Funny thing he used to rant about the Russians and the Poles more than the Blacks(they were known as coloreds then) and the Jews. Maybe that’s why I married a Jewish woman and have Black Friends(they’re really my wifes but I made them mine too).

I had been thinking about writing this essay for many months but thought it might be too controversial and cause bad feelings, that is until I read an Editorial by Leonard Pitts Jr. a black columnist for the Miami Herald, on Oct, 26 of this year, called HATE THIS GAME? The game in question is called Ghettopoly, however, the article is really about Rap and the bad impression it sends to mainstream America about the African American community. Pitts insights are profound and mirror my own thoughts, therefore I will be quoting him when appropriate.

My musical tastes do include the various incantations of Rock and Metal but it wasn’t always that way. In the fifties, I lived in Chicago and when I was twelve, thirteen and fourteen, I attended The Art Institute. My favorite baseball player was a rookie then on the Milwaukee Braves named Henry Aaron(ever hear of him?). I used to listen to the games on Milwaukee radio station and I’d also listen some of the black radio stations to hear Rhythm and Blues and the real birth of birth of Rock and Roll.

I’ve always been a non conformist, never settling for what everybody else liked, knowing there was something better, so while Guiselle Mackensie and Snokey Lansing were singing about Old Smokey and The Doggies in the Window on Lucky Strikes, Hit Parade, I was listening to Muddy Waters, Joe Turner, Bo Didley, Screaming Hawkins, The Dells, Fats Domino, The Spaniels, The Ojays, The Del Vikings and a bunch of other artists that I no longer remember.
snoop-dog-2.jpg

Eventually this underground Blues and Rock and Roll was absorbed into mainstream top 40 music, first through surrogate white artists like Pat Boone, the Diamonds and the Crew Cuts covering the the music and then by the black artists, like Little Richard, Chuck Berry and Fats Domino themselves.

The late fifties and early sixties was a golden age for for the black rock and roll musicians. The fifties brought us The Platters, The Penguins, the Rays, Little Anthony and the Imperials, Frankie Lymon and the Teenagers, the Coasters, Clyde Mcphatter and the Drifters. The sixties brought us more Drifters, Temptations, Smokey Robinson and the Miracles, Marvin Gaye, Four Tops, Martha and the Vandellas, The Marvelettes and the Supremes. This was when Black music was at it’s acme both in popularity and creativity.

Black Music continued to thrive with black superstars, Stevie Wonder, Jackson Five, Ray Charles, Whitney Houston, Prince and Tina Turner.

notorious-big.jpg

Then in the late 1980s, catastrophe hit. Rap music, the music of the Ghetto, the music of despair and thuggery was born and although Black R & B and R & R didn’t die it was thoroughly diminished. It is to this ill conceived birth that Leonard Pitts Jr. addressed the following comment, “I keep wondering where all this fury was when rappers like 50 cent, Nelly, Ja Rule, and Snoop Dogg first started pimping, drug dealing and drive by shooting all over the video channels…….Where was the moral indignation when Black people were reducing Black life to a caricature?…….With a few isolated exceptions – activist C Delores Tucker and Rev. Calvin Butts – Blacks have been conspicuously silent as Black music, once the joy and strength of Black people, has detoured into an open sewer of so-called “hardcore rap””.

Pitts goes on to say, “The vast majority of that practitioners are nothing more and nothing less than modern day Uncle Toms, selling out Black dreams by peddling a cartoon of Black life unencumbered by values.” This is strong stuff but I’m afraid it’s true, Rap/Hip Hop has crammed out the good black music, the music everybody, white, black, brown and yellow liked and substituted a predominantly hateful message, and I’m afraid White music has suffered too. There’s been a noticeable decline in the quality of all music over the last five to ten years but unlike the Black community this decline does not translate into a negative perception of the white community.

But Pitts is not yet finished. Here’s more, “It is a cynical knowing act promulgated by men and women who get rich by selling lies of authenticity to young people, White and Black, who are looking for lessons of Blackness. They are as much minstrels and peddlers of stereotype as Stepin Fetchit, Bert Williams or any Black performer who ever smeared black goop on his face or shuffled onstage beneath a battered top hat”

I may be wrong but I get the impression that most African American people are proud of Rap/Hip Hop. They think it is a Black creation and it is but it’s nothing to be proud of. It’s not a product of their African heritage, the Blues was that. It’s a product of the Black Barrio. It was born in, and is about the worst aspects the Ghetto. Christ, it glorifies demeaning life in the Ghetto with it’s angry message.

I’m sure there are others but the only recent successful Black music artists I can think of Mariah Carey, Seal, Boys II Men and Destiny’s Child/Beyounce. This compares to a bevy of Rap artists, which means that rap is perceived by White America as the music of choice for Black America and by association is perceived by the lifestyle of choice for Black America.

I doubt if anybody thinks this is good or helpful to the Black community as a whole. It is good to the Black Rappers though. It gives something else to talk/sing about as they go to the bank with their troves of cash. They now get to rub their wealth in their fans faces in their music.

As Mr. Pitts says “Black people of my generation(I’m 46) have resisted speaking forcefully against this because, like all baby boomers, we are deathly afraid of appearing less than hip. But as I recall, our parents never worried about that. They understood their role to be not hipness, but guidance”

“I am of a generation that has largely failed that role, that turned “judgement” into a four letter word. The fruit of that failure lies before us; an era of a historical young people who traffic in stereotypes that would not be out of place in a Ku Klux Klan meeting”

Now I know that after 15 years there is bound to be a Rap song or two or maybe dozens with a positive message but please save your examples. Save them and live by them for to live by the others is a recipe for disaster, a ruined life. I’m Talking about the negative message pervaded in the overwhelming preponderance of Rap/Hip Hop.

I sincerely hope I haven’t offended anybody. This needed to be said and I hope it makes you think.

November 27, 2007. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , . African Americans, ghetto life, Hip Hop, misogyny, Rap, Thugs, women.

14 Comments

  1. rolandapete replied:

    Well I tend to disagree that “Rap” music is bad for the culture. “Rap” music in and of itself is fine. It is the artists that contribute to it that make it a positive or negative influence. I will cite “The Ambassador”, who states in many of his songs that rap can be good and positive and make a great difference in the community. I happen to love rap music, I am 34 years old and a mother, wife, and professional. I grew up with all kinds of music, from Jim Croce to Led Zepplin. I found rap music in the glory days of the genre. I also had many friends in the inner cities, in the projects, and in the suburbs. As an adult and mother I choose to seek QUALITY rap music that I can listen to with my children around and not feel guilty. I love the fact that rap gives inner city youth a hope. Just the way you used to see young men harmonizing in the streets back in the day you can see them now spitting rhymes, a poetic way to express themselves, I believe it is an art form. Yes, the negative rap and roles are seen and felt, it makes me sick, but then let’s talk about other artists, like Amy Winehouse, Brittney Spears, and the numerous metal heads that have died from OD, how often do you hear about a rap artist overdosing, not a big meth problem among the african american community…hmmm. Let me drop a few names, Lecrae, The Ambassador, Grits, T-bone, check these guys out. I have a teenager, you better believe these artists are on her i-pod, I gave it to her loaded, with GOOD quality rap, rock, and pop. I am responsible for what my children listen to. Do her friends listen to shit, yes, does she, not in my home. We have to change to image of the genre by buying new types of rap music and supporting these new artists. Oh yeah, and I am white too.

  2. Neo replied:

    I am a black man, I am a man who loves music, I am a black man who hates rap music! I came up in the era when music was actually music, there were people known as musicians, they played things called instruments, they did what was called singing.
    These musicians were able to convey a message (get this)without using profanity. Many of them also grew up in the projects, many of them also grew up in the ghetto, but they learned how to play instruments, they formed bands like Earth Wind & Fire, The Commadores, Brass Construction, Con-Funk-shun and many others.

    The songs that these young (talented) men produced inspired us, elevated our senses, and made us proud. I remeber going to an Earth Wind & Fire concert in 1976, I was a very young man at the time, this concert was like nothing I had ever seen before, I saw the tightest horn section in the world (known as the Pheonix hornr)I saw a rythem section that just blew me away, and I heard singers Maurice White & Philip Baily sing my soul happy.
    I remember leaving that concert feeling completely entertained and up lifted, I didn’t hear one work of profanity, there were young and old there, black and white, people from all walks of life there. it was a magical time for music and I thought thst it would only get better.

    Imagine my surprise and dissapointment when the (Art)of music perverted into rap, at the time I was hoping that it was just an awful fad that would eventually fade into oblivion. but it didn’t fade away, like a cancer left untreated in grew and morphed into what’s now called gangsta rap, the most idiotic and disgusting crap ever to be unleashed on the world. It has killed what was a wonderful art form.
    I never associate rap with music, for to do so I feel would be an insult to people like Stevie Wonder, Marvin Gaye, Aretha Franklin, Frank Sinatra, Louis Armstrong, and all the other iconic singers and musicians who used to entertain and inform

    Gangsta rap promotes and embraces ignorance, it celebrates it. It has stiffled a generation of young people who were the promise of the future of the race and turned them into mindless clones of these (so called) gangsta rappers. I can no longer listen to the radio because just about every station plays this noise.
    I drive down the streets and see young people trying to look like their gangsta rap heros and I am sickend to my stomach. I hear young kids chanting the words to some profanity laced rap noise, they go word for word, but they couldn’t tell you who Andrew Young is.

    I so miss the art of music, I miss bands, I miss people with talent, I miss the intelligence of music and musicians, I miss the days when young balck people were proud to look and sound like they had good sense, now many of them look like they are poised to knock over a liquor store, they feel that to speak incorrectly is hip. We are losing an entire generation, thank you so much Mr 50 cent and Mr snoop dog, and all others of your ilk, spend your blood money well

  3. Dee Dawning replied:

    To Neo,

    Thank you so much for your enlightening comment. Obviously you think along the same lines as Mr Pitts and myself and it is very gratifying to have you, another African American, agreeing with our conclusions. Please let me know if I can quote you in the future.

    PS. Earth Wind and Fire were phenomenal. Thank you for the memory.

  4. Amber replied:

    As a 24 year old black female who enjoys rap music I not only disagree with your arguments I find them closed minded and ill informed. I understand why you might feel that rap music has a negative effect on American culture. From your perspective, it is a rebellious angry and at times ignorant form of expression which barely counts as music let alone art. I only wonder what your parents felt about the music you listened to when you were a young adult. The very music that you call classic now was called profane when you began to enjoy it. With all that said I would like to point out some facts that you and the sources you agree with have overlooked.

    Firstly, you have made the assumption that all rap/ hip-hop music is created equal. I’m sorry but not all artist rap about drug culture, not all artist use profanity, not all artist disrespect women and not all artists glorify violence. This is something that people who enjoy rap music know because they step outside the MTV image that is presented to the majority of white America. I have no respect for someone who criticizes an entire culture (because it’s not just music) without even stepping into it. I wonder, sir, how many teenage black males you know and converse with on a daily basis. I wonder just how close you are to a community that you feel needs you to tell it what is and isn’t good for it. Lupe Fiasco says “hip-hop saved my life” have you ever listened his music how about Common or The Roots? Have you ever spent any time with a Notorious BIG Cd and actually listened to what is being said beyond the profanity. I think not, because if you did, you would hear a group of talented black men crying out for its community to take a look at its own flaws. They didn’t create the flaws nor are they exploiting them they are just pointing them out. These artists are showing you what their life is like and because it isn’t all cotton candy and roses it has to be bad. I understand however that you don’t want to hear the examples of positive rap music, but I’m sorry if I choose to not sweep them under the rug because you only want to focus on the negative ones that you think support your argument.

    Secondly, I am truly tired of people saying that rap music presents that black community in a negative light. I’m sorry but I wasn’t even alive in the 50’s and I know that I get treated way better now than I ever did back then. I know that I get more respect now than I would have ever gotten then. I know that before rap music I never once saw women with my body on television and now there is a whole genre of men who sing about my body type. I know that before rap music and its dominant negative image nobody even knew there was a black image. For the large part of this country history blacks have either been ignored or disrespected. At least the world see’s me now. I wonder sir, would you even care about what was going on in the black community if rap music didn’t dominate most of popular television. Sure this music might glorify life in the ghetto and quite a few people take it at face value but I wonder how many people ever stopped to write essay about the people that this music inspires to dig deeper into what it means to be black. How about the little white girls and boys who celebrate black history month because now that they listen to hardcore rap on BET and they are also see what black people contributed to this country. The civil rights movement made it so that I can sit on a bus next to white people 50 cents made it so when I sit down white people smile and talk to me.

    I know that drug abuse and dope dealing and violence are shameful naughty things that should be swept under the rug. Yes, let’s continue to pretend that the life of poor black people in America is full of summer block parties and soul train lines. Let’s only show the side of ourselves that don’t embarrass us, that don’t highlight a bigger problem. The problem is that the jazz of artist like Earth Wind and Fire or whatever you call “good music” doesn’t quite speak to a girl who grew up on the south side of Chicago.

    You say that “[Rap music] was born in, and is about the worst aspects [of] the Ghetto. Christ, it glorifies demeaning life in the Ghetto with its angry message.” I’m sorry but I wasn’t aware that there were some better aspects of the ghetto that my generation should be discussing. Maybe your problem is that there is a ghetto at all. Maybe you feel that we should all sing sappy R&B songs about being in love and ignore say teenage pregnancy, violence, materialism, drug abuse, poverty, single parent homes or misogyny. Because if we act like it’s not there then maybe it will disappear and everybody can live the happy go lucky lifestyle of upper middle class America.

    I am proud of hard core rap music because it is angry and as a black woman I am angry. It is no more demeaning to women then playboy, maxim, or spike TV. It is no more violent than an action movie, hard core rock, or the nightly news. It is no more influential then TMZ, Paris Hilton or pop music. And just because it sounds different from what you are use to doesn’t mean rap musicians don’t have to be just as talented and put in just as much work as blues, jazz or classical musicians. And if it’s the blatant graphic sexual content of the music that bothers you then I’m sorry but as an adult I like sex, I like to discuss it, I like to have and I don’t mind listening to songs about it. It upsets me when people judge things they know nothing about. And I’m not talking about a race thing I’m talking about age and class thing.

  5. Dee Dawning replied:

    Hello Amber, I knew when I posted this piece that aficionados of rap, like you, would not like it. Nevertheless, I welcome your opinion. I believe my opinion is well stated as is yours. I’ll admit you made a few good points and if you’re honest, I think you’ll admit I have too, however, I won’t change my mind nor will you so I’m not going to argue merits with you, but I will say this. You are 24. You were practically born into Rap, therefore you have no basis of comparison.

    Read the comment of Neo, an older black man above your comment. Neo, like I and Mr. Pitts, remembers the wonderful creative music that gushed forth from African American society.

    Thank you for reading and commenting

  6. Klassius replied:

    Morning, Afternoon, good evening. I fell upon this by accident and found myself enthralled. Now i am black, 22 and ENGLISH. Personally i think everyone has curnels of truth in their statements. Hip-Hop like all music has it’s good and bad side, you can parrallel [to a lesser degree maybe?] black music and mainstream pop. As a young black man of today i would be socially outcast if i said i liked the pop music of today,YET the pop of the 80’s is very much a different matter. Many young ‘Hip’ people who grew up in that era will remember and enjoy the pop of the 80’s, the pop that seemed to have some integrity. This is much like Hip-Hop; it started very socially conscious and responsible but as money becomes king thinbgs change. That isnt to say that,as previously mentioned,all integrity is gone from hip-hop. American Hip-Hop has had an effect on English music and culture. In the same way we can see where the negative influences have taken hold i.e excessive materialism, degredation of vocabulary and, dare i say, violence [i personally dont think we can just blame hip-hop for that, those lovely Oscar winners,Grammy winners, and actors have a part in this; you dont think SEEING Stallone lop off someones head with no emotional reprocussions doesnt influence violence?]. On the other hand American Hip-hop has led to the formations of many English varients of Hip-hop giving our youth something to claim as their own, the wider aspects of Hip-hop [dance,[legal]graffiti, cyphers]have also been felt possitively. Hip-hop has performed a great service; i made a comparison between U.S and UK race relations back in the day; when Eminem came out there was much focus on his colour, but in the UK a white MC is nothing. Hip-hop/Urban culture in Britain has made much of our youth colourblind we are all ‘Bredrins’. So all in all yes you can look at the bad [heck with the big companies backing this music you have little choice to i suppose]but you can not deny that there is good.

    P.S Also to Neo thanks to the internet and my parents i know of and absolutely love the music you mentioned, so do a lot of my friends and if you listened to some ‘REAL’ Hip-hop [Common, Little Brother, Mos Def, Talib Kweli,Perceptionist,2Mex etc, etc] you would realise rappers do too, i say without the people you mentioned we wouldn’t have half the songs we do.

    P.P.S sorry for any bad grammer and what not, the internet has killed it…BRING BACK THE PEN AND PAD.

  7. Danny replied:

    Sir, I am a 16 year old white male, I live in a small town that has Few black people, and although you and Amber both make Very good points, there is differences of how hip hop/ Rap started, like back when Hip hop started there was guys like 2Pac and the Notorious BIG, who rapped not only about how they were into drug dealing, having sex with women, and committing acts of violence, but also how these things should be stopped.If you ever actually listen to some of the songs that 50 cent and snoop dogg put out you would be surprised at how they DO NOT encourage these things, Like in one of 50 cents songs he says something to the effect of how some kids stole his bike as a child so he sold crack to make the money to buy another bike. He also says how “same shit aint nothing good in the hood, i would run away from this bitch and never come back if i could”. These rappers aren’t endorsing Ghetto life, they are simply stating how they came up in that type of situation.

    And as for women being exploited in music, i think there is a much larger amount of young women who would LOVE to be seen in a 50 cent video with nothing but a bikini or less on. If you ask these women, sure they may say that they don’t want to be exploited, but if you ask the same women I will bet you that all of them would say yes to a 1 million dollar modeling contract with victoria’s secret or playboy.

    And if you think that only Black people are responsible for angry music that drives kids to violence, than you haven’t heard of Insane clown Posse, Slipknot, Megadeath, Judas Priest, Ozzy Osbourne, Hate breed, and other metal bands (since you say you like metal) also, these guys are doing much worse drugs than pot, such as Heroin, cocaine, Ecstasy, Peyote, and other more “Hardcore” drugs. In Fact, a while back, there was a Frontman for a band called Alice in chains that Overdosed on heroin a few years back. Another example of how white people can be just as if not more violent is the Oklahoma city bomber. he was a white male from a small town, do you think he listened to a lot of 50 cent or snoop dogg? I don’t think he did. Another thing, what do you think the ratio of white children to Black children who commit suicide is? Sure, Black kids grow up in a tougher area, but they dont go pull out daddy’s shotgun and put it in their mouth while listening to Heavy Metal. Hell, I know a girl that has 7 suicide attempts and guess what kind of music she hates? RAP! she idolizes the likes of Kurt Cobain, Sid Vicious and the sex pistols and other Punk rock/metal bands. Also, you say that the 70’s is the golden era of music or whatever, but you forget that Punk rock and heavy metal came from that era too (I’ve Done my music homework ;)). All that is happening in this era is that people are showing society what happens behind closed doors unlike previous generations where it was like amber says “Swept under the rug”. Sure, Rap may not help push a movement towards cleaning up the economy, but things could be much MUCH worse in the world of rap. you can ask my dad (who is 55 years old) which Band he would rather listen to, Slipknot or Snoop Dogg, and he would say Snoop Dogg, since Snoop Dogg doesn’t advocate Satanism or suicide, which is like i said, is much worse than selling drugs or talking shit on somebody’s gang or something.

  8. Jackie replied:

    Well I also found this blog by accident, as I was doing research for a paper. I am a 26 year old women, and I think my race is irrelevant. I love how everyone feels they need to point out their race like it defines their intelligence on the subject. I have grown up with all the music mentioned so far, including rap and hip/hop. I will say that I do love some hip/hop, even some of the mainstream, but not a big fan of rap. There are a few exceptions that have previously been mentioned such as Common (highly suggest you check him out). Do these genres portray bad black images well yes of course they do. Did the author of the blog state that she knew there were exceptions, but that she was trying to focus on the far outweighing negative examples, why yes she did. There is always an exception to the rule in anything. Curt Cobain, while many consider a poet was nothing more than a man who had a drug and alcohol problem and suffered from depression, so no he’s not a great role model. A white case in point. But Curt Cobain does not portray a lifestyle with his music as much as you’d like to argue it does, there aren’t millions of kids going around with a shot gun to their mouths everyday because he made it look cool. Now I realize someone is going to get all upset and point out that lots of kids use his example to end their lives to run away from it all… sure of course they do, I won’t deny it… but how many a day are doing it because of him? How many African American youth are going out everyday with guns, drugs, incivility, disrespect in their very attitude because hip/hop or rap have made it their safe haven. I will have to say it’s not only the African American youth that are following this example either, it the youth of America in general, but it is the reputation of the African American people that is suffering, (does no one care about reputation anymore?). There is a far more important underlying issue in this and that is, what is happening to the youth in this country? I go around town on a Sat. afternoon and it scares me, even the richy little girls from white suburban America scare me with their stupidity and lack of self respect. The media in this country and around the world has warped the minds of our youth, the sensationalism and watching people recieve no repercussions in life has given them the wrong idea about what’s ahead for them in life. Do I think that a 12 year old watching Stallone off someone’s head in a movie make’s them think oh hey it’s ok… uh NO. But do I think the movies on drugs, (hey and even I’m a fan of Harold and Kumar) allows kids to think it’s all a joke, YES!! My own brother thinks there is nothing wrong with pot, and that oh no it doesn’t kill brain cells. He is part of that youth who depresses me when I think about the future of this country. I will say that I don’t completely blame the music artists, actors, etc. although they may think they are better than the stepin fetchit’s of this world, but they are they same… they are perpetuating the image, and stereotype of the African American people, when that is not who they are. The parents however have more to blame; they have more responsibility to their children. I don’t know why it is parents are afraid to say no, and why when a teenager yells “you invaded my privacy,” they get apologetic. As a child you have no privacy from a parent, you have no rights but the one’s they give you and that is how it should be!! So I say this… The parents in America need to stop letting their children dictate their family, they need to start putting their foots down, and they need to start punishing their kids to teach them right from wrong. That way when they listen to the garbage some of these rappers put out there, they know it’s not the norm but the exception!!

  9. Dee Dawning replied:

    Hi Jackie,
    Sorry about getting back to you so late. You comment was very edifying. I agree with all the major points you made and I guess you agreed with most of mine. You are right to worry about the future of America and yes parent share in the blame of wayward kids. Things seem to be looking bleaker every day and it’s not just violence and crime. The myopic vision and me first attitude of of most Americans (especially wealthy Americans) is coming back to haunt us.

    Thanks for writing, Dee

  10. trixx it up replied:

    i am very offended ab wht yu sed

  11. Rhio2k replied:

    I work with and live around guys who are from single-parent households, and it’s obvious that they had no male instruction in their lives except for the rap artists they listen to: they all have felony criminal records, not from being in the wrong place and being harassed by “da po-leese” like so many criminals try to say happened to them when they were actually committing a crime, but from committing stupid, optional illegal acts, like selling drugs, and stealing cars. When you are a young black male, living with just mom, you don’t know how you’re supposed to conduct yourself. You listen to rap long enough, and you get the idea that you’re supposed to be committing crimes, that doing time is a badge of honor. That’s what the problem of rap is. You’ll find most brothers in prison now are raised by rap, and come from single-parent families. Momma made them feel better when they were sick, and fed and clothed them, but rap artists gave them their impression on how a black male is supposed to conduct himself…leading them straight to crime and prison. They keep getting in trouble with the law, and they can’t seem to understand that the police aren’t harassing them, the police are locking them up because of what they are doing, but since they were raised (by rap artists songs) to believe that committing crimes is alright, they don’t see that the problem lies in the criminal, anti-societal morals the songs instilled in them as children.

  12. Dennis Teel replied:

    i agree that rap and hip hop overall are bad things.the problem is that any positive rap is over ridden and choked out by the crap rap..listeners prefer to purchase the negative stuff..period/
    as for rock or metal,etc,the good far outweighs the bad.regarding rock,the most popular is NOT the hard rock,but groups like the the killers,evanescence,flyleaf,green day and artists that sing less about drugs and political landscape and more about personal relationships. .this is one point that wasn’t made in the article or by posters-that songs used to be written about relationships!! period!! it went awry when bands began to qualify themselves as being politically educated and began to pen songs about the government and political and social issues of the day..all artists should leave social issues of the day out of their music completely,as well as poitical views.when they get back to writing about love and relationships and how breaking up is hard to do ,i’ll be buying music again.people like snoop dog,the black eyed peas and ANY music artists are just that..music artists..not politicians.. and not sociologists.same with actors by the way..they should all keep their traps shut regarding politics and opinions about social issues of the day.even jefferson airplane got smart and left that behind when they eventually became “jefferson starship”.it would be pleasant ,imo.if the rap and hip hop bands that routinely write such tripe would revert to writing lyrics about love..relationships..breakups and makeups.but i doubt that this is in the menu for the future.we’re going to hear about the aggresiveness and racism of “whitey” forever as well as the term ‘m.f.” in rap music for a very long time to come..sad but true.in the 80’s,two of the most popular bands were def leppard and bon jovi.if either recorded a politically themed song it couldn’t have been but one or two in their entire career.the rest were party or relationship songs.this is probably why i loved 80’s music so much though.in the 60’s you had dylan.peter paul and mary and the kingston trio..none of them did i care for much..too much political theme in their writing/
    fewer bands did that kind of writing in those days.even in the 70’s and 80’s,most of the popular music was other than political themed even though some of it was out there.unfortunately ,within rap and hip hop music we hear 4 themes..sex,drugs or racism or the blame game.realtionships?? nope..breakup songs? nope..sad but true.

  13. sex offender map replied:

    My relatives all the time say that I am killing my time here at net, however I know I am getting experience all the time by reading such good articles.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

